Storystorming

A few days ago, I joined a brainstorming session at work. To kick off the session, to make the participants acquainted with each other, and to get their creative and communicative juices flowing, the facilitator asked all people in the room to talk for three minutes about a remarkable incident or achievement in their respective careers. Actually there were a quite few nice stories told. About successes and failures. Some serious ones and some funny ones too.

While listening to the experiences, adventures and confessions of my fellow brainstormers, I started thinking about my own imminent introduction pitch. What past event was important, memorable or entertaining enough to share with my colleagues? And so I departed on a rush trip down memory lane…

brainstorm

“Brainstorm” (by Michael Zhang)

Would I tell them about the user interface I once developed for one of the world’s first video-on-demand trials? Or about the paper I co-authored and that was published in the prestigious IEEE Communications Magazine? Or rather about me traveling thirty hours to New Zealand to deliver a mere thirty minute long customer presentation?

After no more than a few minutes of reflection I decided to tell them about the clash I had with a translator while I was presenting to Chinese government officials (you may read the full story here, in one of my first posts on this blog.) Probably a good choice, because it allowed me to tell something about myself, my area of expertise and my passion for presenting.

Thanks to this brainstorming meeting, a lot of good and bad reminiscences, colorful anecdotes and long forgotten stories came back to my mind – into which I will surely tap for some of my future blog posts. So, why don’t you start exploring your own memories and maybe you’ll stumble upon some good material for your next brainstorming session or your next public presentation…

Click the links below for a few related articles and some of my own stories:

One thought on “Storystorming

  1. Pingback: The back of a roll of wallpaper | B2B STORYTELLING

Comments are closed.