To Prezi or not to Prezi

Lately I have seen a few talks that were authored and presented with Prezi. Though the software has a nice set of features and the guys who created and delivered the presentations did a great job, I am not a big fan of it and I largely share what Scott Berkun’s writes in his ”why I hate Prezi” blog post.

presi_menu

Prezi may be good as a mind mapping tool, but most presentations tend to be overdone as they are trying to maximize the application’s complex structuring, navigation and visualization capabilities. Since I need to focus on delivering my message rather than maneuvering through my visuals –while keeping a mental map of where I am in the 2D or 3D space– I only want to deal with the next slide button on my remote clicker (of course I could create a “linear” storyline using the built-in path tool, but then I might revert as well to Powerpoint.) Furthermore, and as a consequence of these complex zooming and panning actions, a well brought Prezi presentation needs even more rehearsal than the average speaking engagement.

This is why I am not using Prezi and why, until further notice, I’m gonna stick to (good and bad) old Powerpoint. I acknowledge this is a personal opinion and that there are many enthusiastic (and more experienced) Prezi users around. So, if you consider yourself one of them, feel free to comment on this post and tell me why I should start loving Prezi.

Other articles to fuel the discussion about the pros and cons of using Prezi:

5 thoughts on “To Prezi or not to Prezi

  1. One day, I saw a colleague presenting his stuff… on Google Earth. He simply created a PowerPoint, exported every slide to .jpg and stocked them on Google Earth. During his presentation we were flying over the globe, from Brussels to Seoul, to New York, to Beijing,…

    I thought it was cool. Innovative also. Finally somebody was turning away from this boring PowerPoint.

    And you must admit, if you see a PowerPoint presentation from somebody using one of the standard PowerPoint templates, your stomach gets upset, just like mine.

    You must admit PowerPoint is rather dull. And the few animation possibilities that comes with it only adds to the boredom.

    Depending on the audience and the topic, I think many presentations can do without any animation, at all.

    But in some cases, you want to surprise the audience and come up with something different, new, innovative, and clearly different.

    In such – I admit – seldom cases Inkscape and Sozi come in really handy.

    http://inkscape.org/
    http://sozi.baierouge.fr/wiki/en:welcome
    http://blog.lightcastletech.com/2013/04/18/prezi-vs-inkscapes-sozi/

    Like

  2. Pingback: Replace the lamp | B2B STORYTELLING

  3. Pingback: The joy of presenting naked | B2B STORYTELLING

  4. Pingback: The back of a roll of wallpaper | B2B STORYTELLING

  5. Pingback: The serious science of presenting science seriously | b2b storytelling

Comments are closed.