Cut the crap

This morning I had one in my inbox again. One of those emails with at subject line starting with FW: FW: FW: and with a huge PPS or PPSX file attached. It even passed the virus scan.

As a professional presenter, I used to believe that there is nothing more evil than misusing Microsoft PowerPoint, and that I had seen all possible materializations of bad taste and poor design. But believe me, this canned PowerPoint Show was a scholarly example of everything a good presentation should not have and should not be.

My first reproach is that “delivering” a presentation through email is intrusive. I didn’t ask for this crap. Since the PPS file was blindly forwarded to (what seemed to me like) the sender’s complete address book, its content could impossibly match my interests and needs.

So, as you may guess, the slide show I opened was indeed completely irrelevant to me. There was hardly any structure, and the one-liner statements and the ripped-off-the-web images were extremely corny. OK, I may be a strong advocate of putting pathos in a story, but there should be at least a bit of ethos and logos in it as well.

corny_image

And finally, poor design, appalling graphics and improper use of animation and sound made the whole presentation untasteful too. Its layout violated almost every single rule I listed in my don’t feed the chameleons post.

You may call me an angry not-so-young-anymore man, but here’s a plea to (fortunately only a small minority of) my dear email contacts: stop wasting your time, my mailbox space and the internet’s bandwidth. And if you still think your oeuvres are a contribution to arts, society or culture, then please upload your PPS files onto Facebook, SlideShare or any other opt-in content sharing site. Email and PowerPoint are already bad enough on their own, so don’t make it even worse.

2 thoughts on “Cut the crap

  1. Pingback: There’s no excuse for a crap presentation | bluedeckshoe.com

  2. Pingback: Cut the crap (enterprise edition) | b2b storytelling

Comments are closed.