Do the test

“Listen very carefully, I shall say this only once.”
 Michelle Dubois in ‘Allo ‘Allo

According to the International Listening Association, people only remember 20% of what they hear. Even when the content is fully spelled out on paper (or on a web page), you’ll probably recall only a small portion of what was presented (or written).

Let’s do the test. What did you retain from my previous post – which I published only a few days ago? If you haven’t gone over it yet, please stop reading this page, take a trip down memory lane with me first, and come back here in a day or two…

  • Do you remember the processor speed of my first home computer ever?
  • What was the name of the radio station I ‘downloaded’ software from?
  • How old are my children? (Did I actually give you this level of personal detail?)

Even if you scored only 0 or 1 out of 3, this doesn’t mean you are a poor reader. The numbers that I mentioned in my article weren’t exactly the kind of catchy facts that stick into your brain.

memory_game

As I tried to prove in another blog post titled “a body has no true ideals”, people may forget what you said (or wrote), but they will never forget how you made them feel.

So, if you did not remember the facts, tell me what you did remember (if anything) from my earlier post(s). And let me know through the Leave a Reply field below…

